Blog Entry

Hall of Fame nominees announced

Posted on: April 19, 2011 7:51 pm
Edited on: April 19, 2011 7:52 pm
Posted by Pete Pistone

The 25 nominees for NASCAR's third class of the Hall of Fame were announced on Tuesday night. Voting will take place in october with the next five inductees enshrined during ceremonies held in January of 2012. The second class will be enshrined on May 23, 2011.

Here are the 25 nominees for the Class of 2012:

Buck Baker

Red Byron

Richard Childress

Jerry Cook

H. Clay Earles

Richie Evans

Tim Flock

Rick Hendrick

Jack Ingram

Dale Inman

Bobby Isaac

Fred Lorenzen

Cotton Owens

Raymond Parks

Benny Parsons

Les Richter

Fireball Roberts

T. Wayne Robertson

Herb Thomas

Curtis Turner

Darrell Waltrip 

Joe Weatherly 

Glen Wood 

Leonard Wood

Cale Yarborough


More NASCAR coverage
Category: Auto Racing

Since: Jan 7, 2007
Posted on: April 20, 2011 12:47 am

Hall of Fame nominees announced

Raymond Parks should have been voted in before he died. 

The 5 I would vote for in this class will be:

Raymond Parks
Leonard Wood
Glen Wood
Fireball Roberts
Cale Yarborough or Darrell Waltrip (toss up right now)

DW or Cale will have to wait again for next year.  They should get most of the pioneers in first, but try and make sure they get some legends in before they die.

The views expressed in this blog are solely those of the author and do not reflect the views of CBS Sports or